Bay Gaol Index.
Fannie Bay gaol opened in September 1883
with a total of thirty one prisoners, who had been previously been
housed in a one room stone lock up in Mitchell Street. Some blocks
contained only sixteen bare cells, twelve foot square, containing
ringbolts and restraining chains. The gaol is steeped with history
as the gaol was damaged by Japanese air raids which it was taken
over by the military. It resumed as a gaol in 1946. In the gaols
time there was two prisoners hung for a murder they committed in
which the gallows had to be made for their punishment.
Cyclone Tracy damaged some of the buildings in addition to blowing
away the fence. Eventually the gaol was closed down in 1979 and
the prisoners transferred to Berrimah or Gunn Point, thus ending,
nearly a hundred years of penal history in the Northern Territory.